All too soon the strategic action plan for the 2017/18 academic year have come to an end. Young Africans for Opportunities chapter at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology thus YAFO-KNUST ended the year in grand style with a Dinner and Awards Night. The event was dubbed Saborcita Rico which took place at the Sanbra Kitchen, University Hall (Katanga) on Saturday, 14th April, 2018. The dinner was limited to members of YAFO-KNUST and invited attendees. Among the guests who graced the occasion included; Mr. Nuwman Mohammed Bello, CEO of Hope for Education Foundation, Miss Rhonda Boateng, CEO of Kumasi Socials, Mr. Abdullah, Ambassador of Dash-Hub Africa, Mr. Kwadwo Afriyie, Lecturer and Patron for YAFO-KNUST, Miss Ama PRO for Center for Better Society Advocacy and Research (CEBSAR) and our own CEO and Co-Founder Mr. Bismark Peter Kwofie.

The night saw the outdooring of the new Executive Board for next academic year 2018/19 which will be led by Mr. Jesse Kokroko Senyo as the President. Annual report was delivered by the outgoing President, Mr. Daniel Okine which summarized all YAFO-KNUST activities for the year, challenges and progress. Mr. Okine recall the numerous time University authorities call on leadership of YAFO, in our quest to make our voice heard and advance the course of a free society. Statement of Admonishment were given by Mr. Bismark Peter Kwofie and the Patron Mr. Kwadwo Afriyie to members and the new executive. In brief, the statement made it clear that to advocate for a free society may seem difficult but then members should not give up on the society. The effort we make today will create prosperity for us tomorrow.

Also, certificate and citation were given to outgoing executives in recognition of their commitment and service towards the advancement of the mission of YAFO. Members were give certificate for their active participation in the year. Finally, the climax of the event was the awards. Four categories were presented and the details on the award category name and winners are as follows.
1. Mr. Daniel Attiso Okine – Outstanding Leader
2. Mr. Robert Agyapong – Most Hardworking Executive
3. Mr. Jesse Kokroko Senyo – Most Dedicated Member
4. Mr. Nathaniel Dwamena – Outstanding Project Innovator

The Dinner and Awards night had a Buffet as its feast and members were excited at the event as they socialize over meal.
All in all, I will congratulate YAF-KNUST Team at Ghana for such a job well done. The sky is the starting point, let be all out for our actions create prosperity in the future. Breaking Barriers, Enabling Opportunities.

Article by

Nathaniel Dwamena

Scroll to Top